Love Quotes

by melissakiefer

I love words. I love literature. I love love. Before I had a clue what my wedding dress might look like, I knew which love quotes I wanted incorporated into my wedding. In fact, I started compiling this list in a spiral notebook that dates back to junior high. Hopeless. Romantic. I found the notebook a few weeks ago while rummaging around my old room in my parents’ house. Because several friends are getting married and having babies and I’m also involved with weddings and anniversaries through the floral shop, I wanted to share my list of love quotes with you. These quotes (borrowed  from classic literature, film, and the Bible) would be perfect to add in a card, present on a slide show, print on the invitations, have a pastor or special attendant read during the ceremony, or even somehow make as a Pinterest craft for a shower gift, a couple’s room or a baby’s nursery. Oh, the possibilities. I hope the words bless you and you find the perfect quote for your project or occasion. Which quotes are your favorites?
 
 
image credit: via listal.com
 

“There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten, but I’ve loved another with all my heart and soul, and to me, this has always been enough.” –Nicholas Sparks
 

“Love is not love which alters when it alterations finds…It is an ever-fixed mark that looks on tempests and is never shaken; it is the star to every wandering bark.” –Shakespeare
 
“But to see her was to love her, love but her, and love her forever.” –Robert Burns

“The motto of chivalry is also the motto of wisdom: to serve all and love but one.” –Balzac

“I have for the first time found what I can truly love—I have found you. You are my sympathy—my better self—my good angel—I am bound to you with a strong attachment. I think you good, gifted, lovely…passion is conceived in my heart; it leans to you, draws you to my centre and spring of life, wraps my existence about you—and kindling in pure, powerful flame, fuses you and me in one.” –from Jane Eyre

“Teacher, comrade, wife…a fellow-farer true through life.” –Robert Louis Stevenson

“Love is patient. Love never fails.” 1 Corinthians 13

“They didn’t agree on much. In fact, they didn’t agree on anything. They fought all the time and challenged each other every day. But despite their differences, they had one important thing in common. They were crazy about each other.” –Nicholas Sparks

“Grow old with me! The best is yet to be.” –Robert Browning

“I love thee, I love but thee with a love that shall not die ‘til the sun grows cold and the stars grow old.” –Shakespeare

“The strongest and sweetest songs yet remain to be sung.” –Walt Whitman

“There is no fear in love; but perfect love drives out fear.” –1 John 4:18

“Love makes your soul crawl out from its hiding place.” –Zora Neale Hurston

“Oh the comfort, the inexpressible comfort of being safe with a person, having neither to weigh thoughts nor measure words, but pour them all out, just as they are, chaff and grain together, knowing that a faithful hand will take and sift them, keep what is worth keeping, and with the breath of kindness blow the rest away.” –Dinah Clark

“Love takes of masks that we fear we cannot live without and know we cannot live within.” –James Baldwin

“Sounds like a wrestling match, I say. A wrestling match. Yes, you could describe life that way. So which side wins, I ask? Love wins. Love always wins.” –from Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

“The rain came down, the streams rose and the winds blew and beat against the house yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock.” –Matthew 7:25

“Nunc scio quid sit amor.” (Now I know what love is). –Virgil

“That’s my sweetheart in there. Wherever she is, that’s where my home is.” –Nicholas Sparks

“The most precious possession that ever comes to a man in this world is a woman’s heart.” –J.G Holland

“It’s the sweet simple things in life which are the real ones after all.” –Laura Ingalls Wilder

“I am by beloveds and my beloved is mine.” –Song of Solomon 6:3

“I have found the one my soul loves.” –Song of Solomon 3:4

“Many waters cannot quench love; neither can the floods drown it.” Song of Solomon 8:7

“Thou art the star that guides me along life’s changing sea; and whatever fate betides me, this heart still turns to thee.” –George P. Morris

“Two are better than one because they have a good reward for their labor. For if they fall, one will lift up his companion.” –Ecclesiastes 4: 9-10

So it’s not going to be easy. It’s going to be really hard. We’re going to have to work at this every day, but I want to do that because I want you. I want all of you. Forever. You and me. Every day. –Nicholas Sparks

“I came alive when I started loving you.” –C.S Lewis

“How do I love thee? Let me count the ways. I love thee to the depth and breadth and height my soul can reach.” –Elizabeth Barrett Browning

“If you live to be a hundred, I want to live to be a hundred minus one day so I never have to live without you.” –A.A Milne
